Lavazza Italian Film Festival 2012

Yesterday Matt and I had the privilege to attend the Opening Night Gala for the Lavazza Italian Film Festival in Leichhardt.  The red carpet was rolled out for local celebs and socialites making their appearances.  It was fun to experience a night like this here in Australia, as it reminded me of the various red carpet events I’ve attended in the past with my cousin Jen in LA.  It felt like a little taste of home, sans pretentious scenesters, fashionistas, and paparazzi.  The crowd was full of more mature, casually dressed folks which created a totally different vibe and one which I quite enjoyed.

The film we watched was a colourful Italian comedy that generated loads of laughter from the audience.  I don’t think I understood half of the jokes but I still found it humorous.  I’ll admit, a part of me wished I was Italian so I could grasp the full context of each line and laugh heartily with everyone else.  Still, it was well worth watching and the evening was a true delight.  We were even given a bag full of take home goodies!  If you live in Australia and have some time, I’d recommend checking out the Italian Film Festival in a city near you.  Visit their website for more details.

A big shout out to our friends Shannon and Kane for a lovely evening and for hooking us up!

3 thoughts on “Lavazza Italian Film Festival 2012

  1. Hiya. I’ve just been clicking through WP’s Expat Blog comments and I found your blog. How funny that the first post I saw was about an Italian Film Festival. I’m a Canadian expat who has been living in Sardinia, Italy for 5 years. I’m looking forward to reading more about your Australian adventures. I used to live in Bondi beach a long, long time ago!

    1. Oh cool! How fun that you’re living in Sardinia! Italy looks like such a beautiful place. Can’t wait to read more about your life adventures on your blog as well! Thanks so much for checking out mine.

Your thoughts?

