Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary

I captured this moment almost three years ago.  It was just days after I had arrived in Sydney by myself, leaving behind everything and everyone I knew in California.  I wasn’t sure what to expect in this country, and I had no idea where to go or what to do.  So I decided to just take myself out for a long walk.  I headed all the way down George Street and ended up at Circular Quay near the Rocks Markets.  The place was bustling with tourists.  Every five steps there’d be a crowd gathering around a local vendor selling something lovely like handmade clothing or something really disturbing like kangaroo balls.  But just above the crowds I could smell a wonderfully familiar aroma swirling.  Where was it coming from?  The bales of hay around the corner caught my eye and in an instant I knew why I was meant to end up at the Rocks.  I beelined it for the small vendor booth.  They were selling fresh, hot corn on the cob!  Let me tell ya, for a California girl 7,000 miles away from home, this little booth was like a ray of sunshine.  It was the taste of summertime and Fourth of July barbecues all at once.  I ordered one corn on cob and one fizzy drink, then stooped down to rest on a nearby bale of hay.  As I sat there enjoying the flavours of home, I felt completely content in my solitude.  This was one of the first of many solo beginnings in my new life down under.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary

Your thoughts?

