A Brief Expat Rant

If you’re an expat like me, what I’m about to say might actually hit home for you. Let me know if this sounds familiar–whenever you return to your home country for a visit, do friends and family treat you like you’re a tourist?  Like, do you notice how they speak to you as though you don’t know where to go or how to get from point A to point B in your own country?  Are you constantly being told about new hot spots that you already know about?  And don’t you ever feel like shouting out loud and saying, “I know!! I WAS BORN HERE!”

No? Well, I do.

2 thoughts on “A Brief Expat Rant

  1. I’m no expat but honestly, when I go back home to NY I do feel like a tourist sometimes. It doesn’t help that I’m currently living in a much smaller city. Things change so fast.

Your thoughts?

