Dear Sam

Thanks for sending me that cute little recipe box and sharing some of your favourite dishes! Last night I decided to make use of the extra pasta I had in the pantry and cooked up your recipe for macaroni & cheese.  We had a bit of leftover chicken from the night before so I used it as a cold topping on the spinach salad.  I think you’d be proud of how dinner turned out.

I think of you a lot, especially around this time of the year.  There’s no real holiday spirit around these parts.  Some people say Americans tend to commercialize everything and overdo the holidays but frankly, that’s what makes it so fun and that’s the part I look forward to every year.  The hype around each occasion–Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, etc.  What’s not to love about decorations?

Chach sent me a care package and it arrived last week.  I was so stinkin’ excited!!  It made me feel like I had a little bit of California at home.  Who knew the sweet-smelling aroma of a pumpkin candle could trigger so much happiness?  I miss you girls.

I’m planning to host a little Thanksgiving shindig at our place this year.  Sweet potato bake, green bean casserole, classic southern corn bread, you know…the works.  Can’t wait to start cookin’ up a storm again.  Last time that happened was for the Fourth of July.  How is it already November?

Wish you girls could be here to join us for the festivities.  Or maybe I’m just wishing Matt and I could join everyone back in Cali.  Either way, we’ll eventually make it there.  Someday.

Lots of love to you, Pat, Corinne and Collette. xoxo

Your thoughts?

