Exit Left

On my way home, the thought occurred to me: I live in another country.  This thought is one which comes and goes like seasons in a year.  Most of the time it’s mild; other times it burns within me like the sun on hot summer day.  But today was different.  Today I actually felt it pinch me, as if to wake me from some dream.  I was driving across the Sydney Harbour Bridge, numbly thinking about the Opera House, Circular Quay, The Rocks, and then I began to reminisce my first adventures around the city–that’s when it happened.  That thought.  I live here.  I’m so far away from everyone.  I’m driving on a very large island that is also a continent and bizarrely it’s own country.  This is weird.  And instead of my usual freak out, I experienced something new: I was grateful.

2 thoughts on “Exit Left

Your thoughts?

