Full of Thanks

Last night our home was full of friends both new and old, and together we celebrated an all-American holiday of giving thanks.  I went all out like my Mom does when she hosts holiday parties.  It was the first time I’d ever made a turkey so I felt really nervous but was grateful it turned out ok.  I prepared the rest of the classic dishes from scratch–green bean casserole, sweet potato bake, corn bread, garlic mashed potatoes, macaroni & cheese, stuffing, and of course, pumpkin pie!  I’m actually getting full again just telling you about it…

After dinner, I assembled some pieces of paper and pencils and in iconic Dayco family tradition, we went around and shared what we were thankful for and then played a game that my sister would’ve been proud of–the “Long Beach game.”  The evening was full of warmth, joy, and laughter.  We stayed up late chatting ’til the final hours of the day and two of our friends closed out the evening by singing a worshipful love song to the Lord.

All in all, I have to say the night was probably the closest thing to home I’ve felt in a very long time.  I have so much to be thankful for and being here for Thanksgiving was a wonderful reminder to me of just how real my Saviour’s blessings are in my life.

Your thoughts?

