Presents on the Patio

My step-mum-in-law once said to me, “In Australia, no matter what the weather’s like, if there’s a veranda we’ll drink on it.”

Or something like that.  It was the middle of winter, and I had the bright idea of throwing a Fourth of July party down under.  The drinks were cold and so was everyone else.  But they all insisted on hanging out on our patio until the barbecue was done.  That’s when she dropped that knowledge on me.  I can always count on her to educate me on something new about Aussie culture.

With that in mind, I thought it might be fun for Matt and I to exchange our gifts outside this year.  Yes, out on the patio (or veranda or whatever they like to call it).  Except instead of it being all thunderstormy and cold, this time we’d be wearing shorts and lighting up citronella candles.  It was a completely different experience to all Christmas gift opening traditions I’ve had in years past, but I truly enjoyed it.  And I must confess that in those brief moments of unwrapping presents in the cool of the summer evening, I felt as though I was becoming just a bit more Aussie.

Your thoughts?

