Apply Yourself

A couple days ago, I received the following Daily Prompt:

“Describe your last attempt to learn something that did not come easily to you.”

Who would’ve ever thought I’d be learning to do graffiti at 31?  Not me!  My husband has been doing graffiti for years, and as of a couple months ago, I started to paint as well.  He’s been my personal tutor which is great because he has a lot of experience and of course, a mad style.

This art form challenges me because I’m only used to drawing in sketchbooks with a pencil or pen; painting with oils on canvases using brushes.  But a can of spray paint and a wall?  It’s a whole new ballgame and way more technical than I thought.  My hope is to improve each time I do it.  Practice makes perfect, right?  Thank God I have an incredibly creative husband to help me along in the process!

So here’s a series of photos capturing me painting my seventh piece and second character for an event.  I was invited by my friend Chez to participate in the annual all girl graffiti jam hosted by a group called “Ladiekillerz.”  The theme was battle, and everyone was asked to incorporate a weapon with their piece.  This is how I applied myself.

Your thoughts?

