Bad Religion

Sunday school art

A while back, I attended an intimate christening at a small chapel in Bathurst where the main foyer wall proudly displayed the local Sunday school children’s finger paintings.  This one in particular (above) caught my attention and I couldn’t help but laugh.

But while I thought the painting was comical for my own reasons, I later learned that it revealed a whole lot more than just a family of die-hard Star Wars fans.  My step-mum-in-law informed me that during the 2006 census in Australia, some 55,000 Aussies marked themselves down as “Jedi” when answering the question about their religion.  Now THAT’S funny!

Your thoughts?

