It’s Kind of a Fairytale

Our first Christmas in Southern California (2010)
Our first holiday in Southern California (2010)

I don’t mean to sound arrogant (or make you puke because of how nauseatingly wonderful my marriage is), but I truly believe I’ve been living happily ever after since 2009.  It all began when I took a leap of faith to relocate from Orange County, California to Sydney, Australia.  I was only supposed to be gone for one year.  That’s what my employment contract said.  But life is full of “supposed to be”s and how was I supposed to know that my boss was planning to set me up with her step-son???  Aren’t step-mothers typically evil, conniving b*tches rather than kind, thoughtful matchmakers?

Regardless, I met him for lunch one day and we started talking and since then, we haven’t stopped.  After hours of conversations ranging from God to Snoop Dogg, we just knew.  This was it for us.  Ten months later we got married on 10.10.10.  And that’s the story.  Well, the quick and dirty version anyway.

I’m sure at some point in the near future, I’ll divulge the heartwarming details (I know you’re dying to hear them) and share with you the things I’ve been learning about marriage so far.  Happily ever after rarely “just happens”–but when it does, you have to work to keep it that way.

Thank God for my fairy step-mother!!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/02/26/daily-prompt-happy-ending/

One thought on “It’s Kind of a Fairytale

Your thoughts?

