Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees

Tell us about a time you did a 180 — changed your views on something, reversed a decision, or acted in a way you ordinarily don’t.

just-say-no

I think the moment I landed in Sydney, something changed in me. It’s like my body knew a part of it had been left behind in California and was making room for something huge. Only, I didn’t really know what it was back then.

But it’s been almost four years and I can say with confidence that there’s plenty of the old me that I’ve abandoned without reservation. To give you an idea of just how many areas of my life have drastically altered since the “big move,” here’s a small sampling:

  1. I stopped attending church.
  2. I didn’t feel guilty about doing #1.
  3. My perspective of my parents shifted from flawless god-like divinity spirits to lovely but somewhat manipulative humans who raised me in a VERY sheltered home.
  4. All my new family (in-laws) and a majority of my new friendships are with atheists.
  5. My faith is continually challenged and strengthened because of the perspectives I gain from #4.
  6. I stopped worrying about everyone else’s personal issues and focused on working through my own.
  7. Though I received an extremely nasty email from my own sister, I chose not to reply. At all. That was VERY difficult.
  8. I asserted myself in an email to my parents (who were copied in on #7 but did and said nothing) and for the first time, I felt like I was the one who was the clear-headed and rational adult seeking resolution, not them.
  9. Because of #8, my parents have made no attempts to respond to me since January. THIS IS NEW. I’ve never NOT spoken to my parents for this length of time.
  10. I stopped my unhealthy addiction to consuming ridiculous amounts of junk food and started going to the gym and seeing a nutritionist.
  11. I left behind the security of a corporate marketing job to pursue my dream of writing, illustrating, and self-publishing a book.
  12. I became insecure when I told people I had done #11.  That was a very difficult season, both personally and professionally.

Since #12, I’ve self-published my book, but that painful insecurity still lingered. So I got a part-time job from a connection made through a mutual friend. It was supposed to be fun. It was supposed to be something to fill my days with. It was never going to be a career-changer. It was never going to be permanent. I thought I found a solution to my insecurity. It wasn’t it. And to top it off, the work was going sour.

So I quit. I decided it was time to leave my job. And that’s when the latest 180 happened for me. Or shall I say, the people around me did a 180 and I was their victim. They turned. They changed. They assumed. They judged. They whispered behind doors. They smiled and hugged and then spoke lies.

I suppose I’m sharing all this now because it leads me to another change and that is this: I’m too damn old for high school girl drama. I’m tired of having to experience “dating” within friendships, wondering if it’s worth it, will it go anywhere, why they don’t call or text, how come there’s no real depth, etc. From now on I’m going to get all Daniel Ocean on people, the way he was with Linus: You’re either in or you’re out. Right now.

And so, it is with great relief to say I have no choice but to return the favour and do a 180 on them. Change–it’s my new look for this season’s fashion and believe me, it’s hotter than 180 degrees.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/03/14/daily-prompt-180/

10 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: 180 Degrees

  1. Congrats on self-publishing. Congrats at pushing yourself as far as you could… and then a little further out. Great post. I take it you aren’t an atheist yet? 🙂

  2. Josephine, Welcome to Australia! I’m sorry you’ve been having such a difficult time, but that’s great news that you have self published your book. You haven’t mentioned a title, but I wish you well with it and finding the strength to be the person you want to be. 🙂

Your thoughts?

