MotoGP: A New Season

A snapshot I took at Phillip Island in 2011

I know, right? I’m probably the most unlikely fan.  Who would’ve ever guessed a Filipino-American girl from California who loves Mercedes-Benz and American muscle cars would have the slightest interest in motorcycles?

But the truth is, ever since I married a man who not only rides a sport bike, but enjoys racing around the track once in a while, I can’t help but be into bikes.  The motor sport racing kind.  Not the kind of bikes Lance Armstrong rides (or rode), not the kind that are associated with Harley Davidson, and not the kind that go off-road on dirt tracks.  And as for the other type of so-called bike which is really just an automatic two-wheeled contraption that sounds like a lawnmower, no–just…no.

And so, over the past few years it has become a new habit of mine to watch and follow the MotoGP.  At one point, I loved it so much that I thought I’d take on riding for myself, but that didn’t quite work out the way I imagined.  In spite of that, I continued my love for the sport so much that I’ve become attached to many of the riders and former riders, even to the point of being star-struck when I happened to see Daryl Beattie at Officeworks.

I’ve cheered for the token Aussie (Stoner) and of course, my fellow Americans (Hayden, Spies, and Edwards); I’ve gone to Phillip Island to watch Stoner win his final championship at his home grand prix; I’ve cried over the tragic loss of Marco; I’ve begun a love/hate relationship with Rossi; I’ve followed the young ones (Bradl and Marquez) from Moto2 to the next class and celebrated their incredible victories; and I’ve been constantly blown away by the breed of Spanish talent displayed on track by two of the world’s best in this sport: Lorenzo and Pedrosa.

It’s going to be an exciting year, and I’m so thrilled the season has finally begun! So in case I happen to rattle off on future posts that have nothing to do with Australia and have everything to do with the MotoGP, at least now you’ll know where it comes from.

We didn’t end up staying awake long enough to catch the race in Qatar, but we were hyped by the results when we woke up this morning.  Lorenzo finished first, with Rossi in second, and Marquez (my favourite kid on the track) in third finishing his first MotoGP race on the podium!!

Next circuit: Austin, Texas on April 19, 20, and 21

4 thoughts on “MotoGP: A New Season

Your thoughts?

