Veggielicious

 

From the now until December, this is going to be my new theme song.  After my DEXA Scan last week, I felt completely enlightened because it revealed everything I’ve been wanting to know about my body–how much muscle mass I have, how much my bones weigh, and of course, how much unnecessary body fat I still have left to burn.

One thing I forgot to share in my DEXA Scan post was this chart below:

body composition 9 May 2013

At first glance, it just seems like a bunch of numbers but let me tell you, they’re much more revealing than you think!  It’s basically telling me where all the fat on my body is being stored and how much of it is on each body part.  Let me break it down for you:

– L Arm 1.2kg (2.6 lbs)
– R Arm 1.2kg (2.6 lbs)
– Trunk (torso) 9.5kg (21 lbs)
– L leg 3.8kg (8.4 lbs)
– R Leg 3.7kg (8.2 lbs)
– Head 0.88kg (2 lbs)

So what?

Now that I know exactly how much fat I have and where, I can readjust my goals, making short-term and long-term ones, while aiming for a few “quick wins.”  I can prioritize my arms first and foremost because burning 1kg (2.2 lbs) of fat is achievable.  After that, I can shift my focus onto the legs which are currently carrying about 4kg (8.8 lbs) of fat each.  While this is all happening, I won’t pretend to neglect the unit that is my trunk.  I mean, c’mon–it’s pretty hard to ignore 9.5kg (21 lbs) of flab wrapped around my mid-section.  To bring this number down, I’ll be incorporating more HIIT (high intensity interval training) and of course, the appropriate nutrition which is where these veggies come into play.

Me vs the average female

My overall body fat percentage is 29.3%.  Women should be between 21% – 33%.  To get my body fat percentage down towards the lower end of the bracket, I need to understand how much actual fat mass I currently have.

The total fat mass of an average female should weigh between 20kg – 25kg.  Women who fall between 15kg and 20kg are doing very well.  Professional female athletes typically have somewhere between 10kg and 15 kg of fat mass, so now I know which numbers I’d like to shoot for in order to look like a female athlete or in my mind, a superhero.

Although I harp on about my fat mass and the fact that I have in total about 20.3kg of it, I also think it’s worth mentioning that I have 46.4kg of muscle mass which Luke (the DEXA Scan physiologist dude) said is above average for women.  So, yay me for having muscle!!

Nutrition and setting realistic goals

Using the information from my results, Luke calculated that my BMR is 1577 cal/day (the amount of calories my body needs just to maintain life).  To get my body fat percentage down, I need to be at a weight between 63.6kg and 64.4kg.  To achieve this, I will need to lose at least 5kg of fat, and he said it’s achievable to lose 1kg of fat per month.  To achieve this though, I need to modify my diet and consume at least 1600 calories/day on exercise.  He gave me my new calorie and macro requirements: 1600 cal/day; 120g of protein; 160g carbs; and 53g of fat. COOL!!

Light at the end of the tunnel

I feel like I’ve finally reached the day where I now understand how exercise and nutrition work.  I can finally let go of words that carry negative connotations or that turn me off from wanting to be healthy–words like “diet” and “weight loss” and items like scales.  Now I now what is food and what isn’t food.  Now I can stop wasting time on the latest fads and plans and ignore all their weight-loss marketing hype.  Because at the end of the day, it’s about understanding your own body and what it needs–proper nutrition, exercise, and rest.  It’s about fat loss and muscle mass and getting your body composition in balance.

Without the DEXA Scan, I would’ve never known all these things and I would have continued in my ways of trying to do the whole diet & exercise thing that most people try to follow, only to yo-yo, plateau, or give up.  It really is about making a huge lifestyle change, or in my case, a complete overhaul.

This time next year, I will be a completely different person.  I can feel it already and I’m so hyped!!! Watch out folks, Aussie Jos is coming!  Until then, I’ll be focusing on hitting my goals, one day at a time.

2 thoughts on “Veggielicious

  1. Hi Jos I have been thinking about you today and. wondering how you are. I have seen some of your pictures and how you are working on your body. You look good. Do not get too thin as I want to remember you as you were when I saw you the last time.I know that you are still having a rather rough time but want you to know that Ido care about you and pray for you. I guess that you know about Darren’s new job. They are happy and yet sad at the same time as he really liked working for Vanguard but this is a great promotion.I hope that you are doing well. I would love to see you as it has been quite a while since we have seen each other. By the way Dusty got teacher of the year for Valle Vista school. It was really a surprise to him. Have a good day . I love and miss you. Love Gma.

Your thoughts?

