What a Yank!

 

The 4th of July box is freshly dusted and out from under the bed, and I feel like a hyper little kid as I sort through all the decorations.  Is this even normal?  I mean, what’s normal anyway?  When I was five, I used to recite the Pledge of Allegiance out loud every time I saw an American flag.  EVERY. TIME.  And then I would follow it up by singing, “You’re A Grand Old Flag.”  Yes, also EVERY TIME.  Sure, I was a little Filipino girl born in California, but boy did I love my country.  And I guess not much has changed since then.  Even though I’ve moved abroad, married a foreigner, and am on my way to becoming Aussie, I’m still proud and happy to be American–or what Australians endearingly refer to as a “Yank.”

Have a happy 4th of July, my friends!  I’ll be singing all our national songs with you from across the Pacific, with my hand over my heart and a big, silly grin on my face.  God bless America!

12 thoughts on “What a Yank!

Your thoughts?

