My Becoming Aussie Bucket List

Let’s be honest, I can’t quite call myself an Aussie if I don’t at least experience some truly Australian things in my lifetime here. So as I continue settling into this new country of mine, I hope to eventually cross off all of the things on the list below (in no particular order):

  1. Gain a better understanding of Australian English and Aussie slang.
  2. Watch a live footy match (see photo above).
  3. Eat a meat pie with tomato sauce.
  4. Eat chicken schnitzel with a beer at the pub.
  5. Attend a memorial service on Anzac Day.
  6. Eat pavlova.
  7. Go to an Easter Show.
  8. Go to Bathurst 1000.
  9. Travel to the Blue Mountains.
  10. Visit Uluru.
  11. Eat seafood and go swimming on Christmas Day.
  12. Watch all of the Top 10 Australian Movies.
  13. Attend the Australian Open.
  14. Ride the ferry to Manly Beach.
  15. Hang out at Bondi Beach.
  16. Watch the live NYE fireworks show in the Sydney Harbour.
  17. Watch a concert/show at the Sydney Opera House.
  18. Luna Park.
  19. Snorkel in the Great Barrier Reef.
  20. Ride the trams in Melbourne.
  21. Visit the National Gallery and Library in Canberra.
  22. Take a photo in front of the Big Banana in Coffs Harbour.
  23. Buy/own a barbecue grill.
  24. Visit Port Macquarie for a holiday.
  25. Visit the Gold Coast.
  26. Go to Perisher or Thredbo for the winter/snow season.
  27. Do a wine tasting tour in the Hunter Valley.
  28. Visit Byron Bay.
  29. Sunbake on the beach topless.
  30. Visit Tasmania (and take the piss out of it later).
  31. Visit Hamilton Island for a holiday.
  32. Visit New Zealand and do the Hobbiton Tour.
  33. Drive on The Great Ocean Road and visit the Twelve Apostles in Victoria.
6 thoughts on “My Becoming Aussie Bucket List

  1. As a born and bred West Australian, I’m really disappointed that there’s nothing from the Golden State on here! Love your blog, but it annoys me how most Aussies (Easterners) and expats completely ignore everything Western Australia has to offer! We’re still part of your country, even if we’re so far away

    1. Hello dear reader, thank you for your feedback. I’ve been meaning to write a post about my experience in Broome and now I have a good reason to. That’s where my husband and I honeymooned back in 2010, and it was absolutely gorgeous. Other than that, I haven’t spent much time on the west coast, so if you have any personal recommendations, I (and my readers) would definitely love to hear them. 🙂

Your thoughts?

