21 Things I Love About Australia

Not in any particular order, except for maybe the first two:

  1. How blue the sky is
  2. Coffee (it’s the best here and I don’t know why but it just is)
  3. Aboriginal culture
  4. Aussie slang and the social ease and frequency with using the “F” word
  5. Legal graffiti walls
  6. Lemon, Lime, and Bitters
  7. Ferry rides in Sydney
  8. Melbourne everything (except its weather)
  9. Gun regulation
  10. BPAY
  11. Vitamin commercials and banana ads
  12. Aussie humour
  13. The pretty yet no-nonsense currency (especially those $2 coins)
  14. Cafe culture
  15. The salad sandwich
  16. The music (AC/DC, Sia, Angus & Julia Stone, Hunters & Collectors, etc.)
  17. Harris Farm Markets
  18. Bronte Beach
  19. Sydney Opera House
  20. The view you get of Circular Quay when flying into Sydney Airport
  21. Small town vibes in every city

Are you a fellow expat?  What things do you love about Australia?

7 thoughts on “21 Things I Love About Australia

  1. Hi! I’m a new American Expat (NorCal) living in Newcastle with my Aussie Husband and kids. I discovered your blog about a year Go and have checked in with your regularly. I love this lost. So many of these things ring true for me as a new expat: the sky is crazy blue, lemon. Lime and bitters has been my favourite Aussie drink ever since my first trip here in 2002! Gun regulation – we first seriously discussed moving after the Newtown School shooting,Aussie humour. I would add to my list the ABC. We love the spectacular Aussie dramas like Time of our Lives, The Gods of Wheat Street, Miss Fisher, etc. and ABC kids for our boys. So far Australia really is the lucky country for us.

    1. Hi! I’m always curious as to who my readers are, so thank you for taking the time to comment! I’m glad you could relate to this post. Yes, the ABC! Good one. I should add a question to the end of my post and ask people what they love about Australia. Oh and hey, I was born and raised in NorCal (Concord/Walnut Creek area) but moved down to SoCal for college and ended up settling there…until the day I moved to Oz. 🙂

      1. Hi J.Dayco, I’m an indian origin and I absolutely love your website. I stumbled on to the site while I was looking for aussie slang. Good on ya for helping others.

  2. I am an Aussie with a considerable interest in words, and I am always fascinated by articulate outsiders who come to Oz and write about our slang. Famously, we end our words as soon as possible, and run others together. It only occurred to me the other day that “jew” has another meaning in Australia, “did you”.

    It has been said that the Australian sense of humour derives in part from the sometimes less-than-successful attempts to grow crops here. Random rain, poor soils, bushfires, locust plagues, huge distances and even the humble budgerigar have each played their parts in stuffing up the lives of those drug-sodden workaholics we call cockies. This expression comes from “cocky farmers”. One of these people must have bunged in a whole lot of seed, to be shortly eaten by cockatoos who then flew away screeching. I coyld imagine such a person saying “I farm cockies”.

Your thoughts?

