Top 10 Must-See Australian Movies

Every Australian I’ve met has watched at least half of the movies on this list. Most have seen all of them. As for me, I’m still working my way through the list, but they’ve been a real eye-opener. Plus, now I don’t feel so out of the loop when people crack jokes like, “This is going straight to the pool room!”

Check ’em out (in no particular order):

  1. The Castle (1997)
  2. Mad Max (the series)
  3. The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert (1994)
  4. The Dish (2000)
  5. Muriel’s Wedding (1994)
  6. Gallipoli (1981)
  7. Rabbit-Proof Fence (2002)
  8. Chopper (2000)
  9. Strictly Ballroom (1992)
  10. Wolf Creek (2005)

For more Australian movies, check out this article on the “25 best Australian movies ever”

4 responses to “Top 10 Must-See Australian Movies”

  1. Jos, I’m REALLY happy you posted this list. I’ve seen half these movies, would love to watch the others and have been frustrated for a little while because I couldn’t recall the name of The Castle, which I LOVE and wanted to watch again. Thanks!

    1. Cool, Jamie! I’m surprised you’ve seen any of these movies! Glad you enjoyed the post. 🙂

Your thoughts?